RSS

Roleplaying Alt: You Decided

26 Aug

A couple of weeks ago I posted a poll asking you what you thought I should play both Class- and Race-wise to get the best all around roleplaying experience from racial, zone, and faction quests, and anything else that would help me get more into the world itself.

As one of my guildmates, WoWDawgs (of For The Lore), pointed out in his reply I did already have something in mind for doing this myself. But, I know that while I have played a very large number of different characters in all, only a small fraction of them have been Alliance races that didn’t go very far, and most of my Horde characters follow the same leveling path through the same zones once they get out of their starting areas. So instead of just going with my initial thoughts I wanted to check with other people who had likely experienced many of those areas that I have not to see if something I was missing was enough to get me roped into something different.

I found the results of the poll rather interesting.

Poll Results
Top 3 Races

  • Draenei 18%
  • Orc 15%
  • Human 12%

Top 3 Classes

  • Shaman 27%
  • Paladin 17%
  • Priest & Rogue 13%

Reviewing the Results
My original idea, as I mentioned above, was to roll a male Draenei Shaman. There is a lot of lore in the class that I can use, the roleplaying aspects of being able to change your form as well as doing fun things like running on water or breathing beneath it, using totems, and so on. There is a lot that I could do with the character from many different standpoints, and I know from leveling a shaman before that they are perfectly capable of solo leveling which is most likely what I will do with him for the most part.

That was why I found the poll results interesting, in that they lined up perfectly with what I already had in mind. That’s really not too surprising though since almost every poll I have ever put up as ended exactly like I thought it would. What I did not expect though, was for Orc to come in as the second most popular race. I really don’t see many orcs running around, and though I like to play them quite a bit myself, I did not expect them to be up so high.

I was somewhat surpised that Shaman pulled ahead of the second most popular by 10% of the votes (10% seems larger than 3 votes, so I’m going with that), but I’m not surprised that Paladin came in at the number 2 slot. Rogue at number three isn’t too surprising after seeing replies here on the blog as well as replies in Twitter, but I certainly did not expect Priest to be tied for that third slot as well. I liked playing my priest for the 20 levels I’ve played him so far, but I did not expect one to be a top choice for this.

Decision Time
Since the poll results lined up with what I was thinking of doing in the first place I did not hesitate to go ahead and roll a Draenei Shaman, Wolfgaar, on the Earthen Ring-US (Roleplay) server. He’s not high enough level right now for me to post any armory links or anything for anyone to follow, but he will be before too long. At this particular moment I also happen to be out of town on business so I can’t post any screenshots of the tentacly lightning thrower either. But there will be some posts to keep you updated from time to time.

My thanks to all who took the time to vote, and for all those who replied via replies here or on Twitter.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2009 in World of Warcraft

 

3 responses to “Roleplaying Alt: You Decided

  1. strumpet101

    September 1, 2009 at 11:04 AM

    Although I don’t RP, I do LOVE my Draenei Shaman! Can’t wait to see how you go!

    Oh, and I forgot to reply about the Missing Diplomat – it is an Alliance specific quest, not race or class related. Pick it up from Thomas at lvl 28 in the Cathedral in stormwind (unless it’s changed since I did it :))

     
    • Psynister

      September 1, 2009 at 11:36 AM

      I’ve had a lot of fun with the shaman class itself, and I’ve had quite a bit of fun with the Draenei race so far too. I think the two will work out well together. I will keep you posted as I have time to play him though.

       
  2. Aoirselvar

    September 1, 2009 at 12:14 PM

    What can we say, great minds think alike.

     

Leave Me a Note

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,153 other followers

