RSS

Are you struggling to level in Wildstar?

26 Jun

Since Wildstar launched, I’ve kept a pretty close eye on the #Wildstar hashtag on twitter for information and feedback from the players. One of the trends that I’ve seen since about the third day of launch is that people tend to have trouble leveling up in Wildstar.

I’m not talking about the whole “get to level 14 and get sucked into housing” thing, I’m talking about people who get to level 10 and then stop playing the game because it’s boring. People who get to level 25 and then feel like it’s just too grindy to push forward. People who think that leveling a DPS Medic offers about as much appeal as sawing off your own leg with a rusty butter knife.

In the past, I have taken this kind of feedback as a challenge, to see for myself whether or not those claims are true, and to see if there is a way around it. So I’m putting a call out to you, readers, to tell me the struggles that you’ve personally had with leveling, and I want details. If you’re having trouble with a particular class, level range, zone, or something else in the leveling process then I want to know what it is.

As I said, I’ve seen a lot of these complaints on twitter. But, the nature of twitter’s 140 character limit means I don’t get much detail, so I want to open the blog to this instead.

This isn’t just a place for you to log every complaint you have about Wildstar in general, I’m looking specifically at struggles you’ve had in the leveling process. If you don’t like how today’s hot fix only included three official fixes for 90 minutes of downtime, I don’t care about that crap. But if you’ve struggled with leveling, I want to know about it.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2014 in Leveling, Wildstar

 

Tags: ,

15 responses to “Are you struggling to level in Wildstar?

  1. Belghast

    June 26, 2014 at 9:45 AM

    The level 10 barrier seems to be very real. I have watched so many people in guild get there and just stall out. Personally I am finding the post 25 leveling to be considerably slower and while I am still enjoying myself, I seem to have lost a lot of my forward momentum.

     
    • Psynister

      June 26, 2014 at 11:18 AM

      I’ve heard people mention that it picks up again around level 30. Have you hit that mark yet?

       
  2. Kodra

    June 26, 2014 at 9:51 AM

    I am now level 14 and haven’t been sucked into the housing. I actually don’t really care too much about the housing options. I’m playing a spellslinger and a scientist and I feel compelled to do scientist-y stuff I see, but quickly become bored of the tedium of some of them. I got stuck for 2 days on a “scan a bunch of boxes” mission in Daredun (sp?) because I got bored about halfway through and decided to do something else.

     
    • Psynister

      June 26, 2014 at 11:19 AM

      Are you struggling to level the character at all, or is it mostly the Path that’s giving you trouble?

       
  3. wwsoundforge

    June 26, 2014 at 10:29 AM

    My main complaint with the leveling is that there are too many group 2 and group 3 creatures mixed into regular quest mobs and they are too easy to accidentally pull because of it. I would not mind as much but their itemization for loot appears to be no better than regular mobs and not worth the time or effort to kill.

    Also incoming damage and creature health seems to scale a little too quickly versus what you can deal and heal given gear. I only do well because I am leveling 6 character simultaneously and bought CREED for crafting materials. I then have mostly blue gear and still can get easily overwhelmed.

    Long story short, leveling mog tuning is a bit high.

     
    • Psynister

      June 26, 2014 at 12:15 PM

      I’ve definitely been killed multiple times by an accidental Prime pull. I’ve died multiple times to Group 5 Primes as well, that I didn’t realize were meant for 5 until suddenly I was at 5% health and wondering what in the world had gone wrong before seeing the group number indicator. I think we could use some more effective UI indicators of that sort of thing.

      That being said, primes do offer more experience than normal mobs, though I certainly agree that the reward is not proportional to the challenge as their drops are exactly the same in my experience so far. They also count more towards quest/challenge completion which I think is a really nice touch. In some cases a normal mob counts for 5% of a challenge, where a Prime counts for over 30%. But, not all primes can be soloed, or at the very least cannot easily be soloed by every class.

       
  4. shaenus

    June 26, 2014 at 11:44 AM

    I think the main issue that that people have MMO level cap sickness. Games like WoW have taught us that nothing matters until you max out and it’s a real shame for games like Wildstar where the questing is actually fun if you stop worrying about what level you are. I’m looking forward to 50, but I’m not in a hurry to get there because I’m having a blast on the way up, which is something that doesn’t frequently happen in an MMO.

     
  5. Nina

    June 26, 2014 at 11:57 AM

    My daughter has created 9 characters (various race/class combinations). None of them are below level 10 or above level 18. All but 1 are slated to be Architects.

     
    • Psynister

      June 26, 2014 at 12:09 PM

      All architects? That seems like a terrible waste of resources, unless some of the higher level patterns are BoP.

       
  6. tomeoftheancient

    June 26, 2014 at 2:56 PM

    My Stalker is level 40 and the only trouble or frustration I’ve had has been with buggy quests that can’t be completed. I’ve been enjoying it and take a break every now and then to explore and level my path. Then I take another stab at the buggy quests.

     
  7. Avi

    June 26, 2014 at 3:33 PM

    My first toon leveled up no problem, she was 50 in a couple of days. I have a spellslinger alt on the ground but I’m so caught up in adventures and crafting and dailies (oh my!) that I haven’t really moved her past Deradune yet. It’s interesting to me to see that people are feeling “stuck”, though. I wonder if I’ll run in to that on Linsha, since she doesn’t have the “max level quick!” motivation behind her. I want to read more quest text and stuff, and keep the Drusera quests in line with her level – they bugged out early on for Avi so I had to leave them behind and wait for the fix to come in (which was unfortunate because the Drusera story is *fantastic*). I wonder if that will keep me plugging away. :)

     
  8. Mishaweha

    June 27, 2014 at 10:13 AM

    I’ve been having some troubles on my engineer. She’s level 18 right now, and I think my main issue was running into the XAS camp in, um, the zone to the right of Thayd too soon. I don’t think I realized the quests were that much higher in level that I was. I died. A lot. Repeatedly.

    However, leveling had felt much… slower almost as soon as getting into Galaron (or whatever the second human zone is). Now, I know I quest slow, and I do get tired of questing a lot in a single period of time fairly easily. But I had issues in that zone in the outlaw camp to the north and the one with the captured slaves to the south. I think this might have been because my bots lurve to ‘help’ by pulling everything, whether I’m ready for them or not. Including the really tough ones. And sometimes the spawn rate in those zones seemed really fast too, so I’d finish killing one slightly tough one and everything around me respond and off ran the bots again.

    For my spellslinger, who is level 12, things seem to be smoother than for my engineer. Maybe it’s less bots, or the playstyle. Or both. I think I need to look up how to engineer a bit more because my guess is that I have some sort of weird hybrid dps/tank gear combo that’s doing me no good at all.

     
  9. Mediceara

    June 28, 2014 at 2:54 AM

    The comments from wwsoundforge and Mishaweha resonate with me and, yes, I am one of those levelling as a DPS medic (currently level 32). Doing zones and quests “on level” is hard in Wildstar.

    1. Accidentally pulling a prime = death
    2. Accidentally pulling yellows into the fight with your AOE = death
    3. Having a 3 mob group respawn on top of you at the end of a battle = death

    Two other things I’ve noticed…

    Some normal mobs hit way harder with their specials and telegraphs than others and there’s no way of telling before going into the fight.

    Also, it seems like the combination of strike through vs. deflect and crit chance makes for a very RNG dependent combat experience. Sometimes, I will get to use my finisher on a group of three before I’ve reached the end of my opening rotation. Other times I’ll get to the end of my rotation on a single mob and be forced to kite it while I regenerate resources and heal myself.

    My solution has been to out-level the content by a couple of levels – which makes it less frustrating. I always keep rested XP up by alternating between characters and always hearthing back to housing at the end of a session. Then when I’ve completed the quests / stories I “complete” the zone for my path missions which nets additional XP (from mob kills etc.) before moving on to the next zone.

    Because here’s the thing, I’m really enjoying Wildstar. The zones, the stories, the interactive combat (when I’m not dying!), the community… it’s great. And I don’t want to let the above problems stop me enjoying the game.

    Just my two cents.

     
  10. darryl

    July 6, 2014 at 9:45 AM

    level 18 with two characters and hit a wall with them both. have several others at the 10-14 range and stopped because they just seemed weak or to button mashy.
    with my level 18 characters, I’m Dying a lot. quests at this level/area seem buggy. one instance, my engineer pets disappear over and over and over. wow… buggy. Lots of primes mixed into regular mobs make pull and navigation hard. also the 5 mobs are hard to see that they are 5 mobs, pulled this type a couple of times :| not sure I’ll keep playing quite frankly. I like a challenge, but not a buggy one with odd mix ins.

     
  11. dragons101

    July 30, 2014 at 9:40 PM

    I think I got to level like 16 or something? and while the gameplay was a lot of fun, everything just seemed so grindy to me. Quests were grinds, events were grinds, gring grind kill kill. I also played to level 10 and realized that I had literally no idea where I was what I was doing, or why. That’s very much my fault because I didn’t read most of the text given to me, but I just couldn’t bring myself to continue pushing forward. I remember thinking to myself when I hit 15 ” I have to do 35 more levels of this?” and just said nope. It has the same stagnant feeling of leveling wow does. but at least in wow I can dungeon grind to level cap in like a week.

     

Leave Me a Note

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,154 other followers

