RSS

Cataclysm: Races and Classes

21 Aug

Surely we all know that Blizzcon is in the works right now, as I write this. People are looking around for details on all of the little tidbits of information that we have received so far, and right now they have not actually given us much in the way of details.

There is going to be a wealth of information spread out all over the internet soon enough on the many, many changes coming out in the new expansion and since I’m not at Blizzcon myself I can only get you the information that I can find myself or hear via twitter.

The official release date has not been given (yet), but it will be in 2010 from what they have told us so far. My guess is that it will be around November, but only time will tell.

New Race/Class Combinations
The first thing I want to cover is the new race/class combinations because this is something that I have wanted since I started playing. I have hated racial restrictions on classes since it first appeared way back in the days of early Dungeons and Dragons. I like all options to be open and restrictions, while good for the Lore freaks, annoy me to no end.

So, here is your chart for the new race/class combinations:
newclassrace

In case you aren’t able to see those changes, here’s a list for you:

Orc: Mage
Undead: Hunter
Tauren: Paladin, Priest
Troll: Druid
Blood Elf: Warrior
Goblin: Death Knight, Hunter, Mage, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warlock, Warrior

Human: Hunter
Dwarf: Mage, Shaman
Night Elf: Mage
Gnome: Priest
Draenei: (nothing new here…)
Worgen: Death Knight, Druid, Hunter, Mage, Priest, Rogue, Warlock, Warrior

Starting Zones Remade
All of Azeroth has been royally screwed by the escape of a dragon known as Deathwing. The whole world map has been remade, and starting zones are changed to take you from level 1-15.

I love this because I love to level. This chance is going to open the doors wide open to leveling and I wouldn’t be surprised if I reroll a character of every race, and likely more than one of both the goblins and worgen.

Flying Mounts in Azeroth
This is something that Blizzard said they would never do. Of course, this isn’t the first time they’ve done something they said they wouldn’t. Regardless, it’s here. I said before that I did not see this ever happening because Blizzard would have to remake the whole world map to make it possible. Well, that’s exactly what they did and so we will now be able to use flying mounts in Azeroth.

New Profession: Archeology
This is a nice surprise, and one that has absolutely no details – yet.

We know that it will allow you to find ancient artifacts and special rewards, but that’s all they’ve told us so far. What does it actually do? Who knows?

Whenever we receive more information I’m sure I will post it here for you to see.

But Wait! That’s Not All!
There is a lot more that has been revealed, but I have even fewer details on that than everything else I have already posted here. As more information becomes available I will post it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 21, 2009 in World of Warcraft

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave Me a Note