RSS

My Warcraft Year in Review Meme – Take 2

18 Dec

Alright, I did this a couple of weeks ago and decided at the time that I didn’t really want to tag other bloggers with it because doing that feels wrong to me. Why? Because it’s sort of like a chain letter, someone sends it to me, I send it to five people, they do the same, etc., etc. Part of my responsibilities at work is to find people who are doing this kind of stuff with their work email and kill it before it starts perpetuating. It just feels wrong!

But feeling that way bothers me more, enough so that over the last two weeks I keep on thinking back and who I should have tagged. I mean, come now this is the freaking WoW Blogosphere we’re talking about here! We’re here to help each other, encourage ideas, share our thoughts, and all the crazy business.

In the end, my desire to be part of this great community of WoW bloggers won me over, so it’s time to take another shot at this and actually do what I was asked to do. So let’s try this again shall we? And this time, we’re playing tag!

My Warcraft Year in Review Meme
1. What did you do in the World of Warcraft in 2009 that you’d never done before?
2. What was your favorite new place that you visited?
3. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
4. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
5. What was your biggest failure?
6. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
7. What do you wish you’d done less of?
8. What was your favorite WoW blog or podcast?
9. Tell us a valuable WoW lesson you learned in 2009.

1. What did you do in the World of Warcraft in 2009 that you’d never done before?
This question is both hard and easy to answer. It’s hard in that I only played for a short time in 2008, so almost everything was new. It’s easy in that, well, everything was so new.

To list a few, I did the following: Reached level cap, purchased epic flying, made my first successful twink, left my first true “home server”, switched from playing primarily Horde to Alliance.

Take 2: Thinking back a second time, I’d say the two main things I would list here are actually the switch from Horde to Alliance followed by testing out a Roleplay server.

2. What was your favorite new place that you visited?
This one is pretty easy as there really wasn’t much of anywhere that I went this year that I didn’t reach in 2008 save for the higher leveled areas of Northrend. To pick a single place though, I will have to go with the AQ40 raid. I went there for the first time a month or so ago with our main guild on the new Alliance server, Durotan-US. We had a blast in there and I found that I really love running around on the mounts that drop in there. It really sucks that you have to be in the instance to use those mounts, but it was really cool to go in there for the first time and really nail one of the big raids from the past that I was certainly nowhere close to being ready for while it was actually being played.

Take 2: This one doesn’t change at all. AQ40 was amazing.

3. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
I think I’m looking forward to actually participating in some of the end game raiding in 2010. Not a whole lot, but a little bit. I’ve never been a fan of raiding, and I don’t expect to become one any time soon either, but I just recently got a new computer that I think can actually handle the the load that an honest raid will put out where before I would lag like crazy if there were more than 5 people in a group.

Take 2: The more I look at this question, the guild that I’m in, and the goals I really have right now, I’m not sure that I’m any more likely to raid in 2010 than I was this year. In the end it all comes back to the fact that I just don’t care for the experience leading up to raiding. I like going into the raids and seeing the more serious content there, but I don’t care for a gear grind, a reputation grind, or anything else of that nature. It’s just not something that I enjoy in the least. So scratch that idea.

Instead, what I want in 2010 that I didn’t have in 2009 is a home. I think I’ve found a home server now that I really enjoy, but that’s the extent of it. What I need is a guild that I fit into, I need to stop joining these raiding guilds that my wife is a part of because I don’t care about raiding. I need to find myself a decent guild that really fits in with what I want to do, or at the very least get some more friendships going on the server beyond the five or six people on the server that I really consider friends.

4. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
There really wasn’t much in the way of achievements this year in the use of the WoW term, so I’m going to say that reaching the number of views on my blog would be my greatest achievement of the year. I think I did quite a bit to move up from being “just another WoW blogger” to having people actually care about what I’m writing. As I check the stats on the blog, I find a lot of people constantly referring back to things that I wrote here, particularly in relation to the Prot Paladin. So I know that to at least some degree I am actually reaching my goal of helping people.

Take 2: I think this one holds true. Not much was actually accomplished in game, but I’m happy with the success of the blog.

5. What was your biggest failure?
My biggest failure is going to tie into one of my biggest changes, which was the swap to playing Alliance rather than Horde. I had two of my friends end up paying to transfer their characters to my Horde server, and this year my wife made the switch to an Alliance server herself and after going to help her get a start I actually found myself really enjoying the server as well. So much so that I actually very much dislike playing on my old Horde server now except for the occasional run.

I also left a fairly good guild because I wasn’t going to raid and joined another which decided shortly after my joining them that they would open their doors to everyone. The guild now has over 500 members who constantly talk about random, stupid crap that makes me actually leave the guild channel in another chat window that I never look at just so that I can ignore them all.

So basically I screwed myself by switching to a fail guild, and then I screwed two of my friends out of actual money as they transfered the characters over to play with me and then I changed servers myself. For those reasons, I suck.

Take 2: This still really sucks, and for that I really suck. I don’t know what to do on this one. Do I leave friends to play with friends? Do I split up my own time to play consistently between two servers? I don’t know the answer to this one, I just know I screwed it up.

6. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
I think the only thing that really got me excited this year as far as WoW goes is going to have to be Cataclysm. I’m still excited about it even though we have no idea when it’s actually going to hit the shelves yet, and I can’t wait to jump in there and get started on rolling a whole new set of characters.

Take 2: Nothing’s changed here, they let the Cat out of the bag early but it’s still got me stoked.

7. What do you wish you’d done less of?
I wish I had done less of my twinking. While I had a great deal of fun doing it, and I’m still doing it even now, I wish I had done a bit less. The blog stopped getting updated while I was doing it, I pulled away from other players quite a bit while I focused on doing my own thing, and so on. It’s a great deal of fun to twink a character and to really get to know the ins and outs of your abilities and increase your knowledge and skill with the character, but it has its drawbacks sometimes too which you don’t always see until it’s too late to fix them.

Take 2: I think the bigger picture here is wandering aimlessly. I move a lot between doing this or that, and whatever it is that I’m doing at the time is what I focus on. I can’t just dabble in a little something over here for a few and then jump back to my main focus because whatever I take on takes the slot of main focus when I do it. If I decide to go jump on the twinks for a bit then they become the focus. If I have a bad match and want to go level a different toon to wind down a bit, then I get focused on the leveling. Right now I have no direction, and that can be a good thing in the freedom that it offers, but it also drives me into being a loner in almost all aspects of the game. And while I’m fine with that and prefer it in most cases, I do actually enjoy doing things with other people and being able to be social.

8. What was your favorite WoW blog or podcast?
This one is really hard, actually. There are a lot of things that I like about a lot of the blogs that I read out there. Narrowing those down is a bit too hard, so I’ll just link a few that really come to mind right off: LoreCrafted, Darraxus the Warrior (Real Azeroth Heroes, especially), Cynwise’s Battlefield Manual, Through the Eyes of Death, Empowered Fire, Slice and Dice, Troll Bouquet, and Shaman on Ramen.

As far as podcasts go, I’m still new to them and the only two I even listen to (and on an infrequent basis at that) are For The Lore and WoWPhiles.

Take 2: Nothing new on this one.

9. Tell us a valuable WoW lesson you learned in 2009.
My reply here is actually going to be almost exactly the same as the one from which I was tagged who said, “I learned that it is not worth it to offer up constructive criticism or unsolicited advice. Even if you think you are friends with someone and see themselves repeatedly shooting themselves in the foot with their poor communication skills. Even if you see them run folks off with their communication style and their lack of respect for others’ ideas and opinions. Just keep your mouth shut. Because all you’ll get is a black eye for trying to help someone be more aware of how others are perceiving them.”

In my blogging I try to go into a lot of detail to break things down and explain in such a way that anyone could pick it up and put it to use even if they were brand new to the game. I don’t always do the greatest job with that, but I try. It has recently been brought to my attention though that using the same type of language in replies or offering of my own opinion makes me come off as more of a jerk than someone trying to help.

So I’ve learned something quite a bit like what Miss Nexxi there learned, that giving advice when it isn’t asked for, no matter how useful or important it might be, is better left ungiven.

Sometimes I actually want to get someone upset, to show them how stupid they’re being, or to tell them they’re screwing things up for the rest of us. And in those cases I come right out and smack you upside the head and tell it like it is. But for the most part, I just want to open doors, broaden views, or give some insight into things that people don’t know or haven’t figured out yet. The key is expressing that without coming across in a completely different manner, and while I haven’t learned yet how to do that, I have learned the need for it.

Take 2: Moving right along then.

5 Folks I’m tagging to Complete this Meme
As I said at the top there, I’m not tagging anybody in particular with this. It’s just not the kind of thing I do, personally. So instead I’m going to offer this up to the first five people that feel like taking it upon themselves to do so.

If you’d like to tag yourself with this, then drop me a link to your blog in the comments to this post and I’ll add your name and your link to the list below:

Enough with the giving into my inner workaholic, it’s time to give into my inner altoholic and spread the love. But most of the people that I know pretty via Twitter have already done this or they have blogs that are pretty strictly focused on a specific topic and I don’t really want to ask them. So I’m going to tag some people whose blogs I read frequently where this might work and might not, despite how little I know some of them, and we’ll see if it catches at all. Will they join in a meme from someone they barely know, or in some cases don’t know me at all? We’ll see.

1) Restokin.com
2) Tree Bark Jacket (My twink still needs one of those, btw.)
3) Honor’s Code
4) Righteous Defense
5)

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2009 in Blog, World of Warcraft

 

Tags:

14 responses to “My Warcraft Year in Review Meme – Take 2

  1. Ophelie

    December 18, 2009 at 12:22 PM

    In reference to #9 and not giving out unsolicited advice, I’ve discovered that one of the perks of blogging is that you can now say: “you don’t want my advice? FINE! I’ll go post it on my blog and OTHERS will THANK me!”

     
    • Psynister

      December 18, 2009 at 12:39 PM

      Thanks for the reply, Ophelie! It’s always nice to find a new (to me) blogger and twitter user as well. /subscribe /follow.

      When I run into people like that in game I find that it’s better for me to just leave, or else the anonymity of the interwebs will get the better of me and I’ll go off on them. That’s not a big deal for some random scrub in a PuG or something, but it can be a pretty big issue when it’s a guild member or a friend.

      Having the blog gives me a nice little place that I can get all of that out there though, and it’s up to the person(s) needing the advice to go hunt it down themselves. In fact, I find myself more and more just linking people to the blog or to wowhead or some other site with their answers to try to give some of them some resources to pull from other than game chat.

      A lot of times you find losers that are just too lazy and want people to tell them what to do or whatever, but you find the good ones from time to time as well who never had a clue those sites existed or how to find them.

      I did have one particular punk who came to my blog and started spamming comments at me, but it took all of 9 seconds to delete all of his stuff and ban his IP.

       
      • Ophelie

        December 19, 2009 at 2:54 PM

        I’m the same way when it comes to “advice like” posts on my blog. I like having something I can link to in need and it’s perceived way better than if I start giving advice. Another advantage of the blog is that I can take my time and address the topic in a more in-depth and organized manner.

        I don’t mind when people give me unsolicited advice as comments because I see it as “discussion”, plus I’m sure other readers can benefit from it, but I try not to do it on other blogs.

        I haven’t gotten any jerks yet (besides one once who had something personal against me) and hopefully it’ll stay that way :)

         
    • Psynister

      December 21, 2009 at 10:06 AM

      Game chat is a lot like Twitter in its character limiting ways, which makes it sort of hard when you’re trying to explain something a bit more complex than “he’s in the dwarven district, first door on your left”.

      I look forward to people leaving informative comments on the blog. Discussion is great and so is finding out things I don’t know or finding alternate ways of doing the same thing that might be easier, faster, or perhaps more enjoyable.

       
    • candy

      December 22, 2009 at 7:39 PM

      lol that is my take on it too!

      And Psynister, thanks for taking a second go at the meme. I honestly have been tickled to see how folks have spun off from the questions.

       
  2. aoirselvar

    December 18, 2009 at 12:48 PM

    Well, I kind of feel like I’m split in between servers as well. My home server doesn’t give me my RP fix, in fact that guild makes fun of RP altogether. So, I’ve been playing 3 different servers, Feathermoon, Duraton, and Deathwing. But then I have the problem in the fact that I just don’t play enough to get hardly anywhere when I split my time up 3 ways. But I’ve been an altoholic as of late anyway, so my time is really split like 7 ways right now, so what’s the big difference.

    I love my guildies on my home server too much to change my homeserver (too much family there), but I’ve found the guild’s goals don’t necessarily match my own. They are more about raiding, gear and content than I am. At least they are a self-proclaimed casual guild, which I really need.

    Oh my goodness, I’m rambling again on someone else’s blog. I should save this for my own. Sorry about that.

     
    • Psynister

      December 18, 2009 at 2:18 PM

      I accept rambling. :P (Happy Anniversary, btw)

      I’ve been split between up to 8 servers all with 3-10 toons on them before. Luckily I got over a lot of that so that I’m now down to one primary server, one secondary, one RP, and three that I just goof around in now and then we a friend or family member asks me to come play on their main server.

      Here lately though I’ve been almost entirely on the main server which is pretty good, but I want to play toons that are on other servers too, just not necessarily on the server they’re on. I’m not about to transfer or faction change though, so they’ll have to remain where they are.

      I’ve got two characters right now that I would like to play but at the same time don’t want to play them because they’re fairly close to 80. When a toon reaches 80 he might as well be dead as far as I’m concerned, so I hate to get them leveled. But if I don’t level them then I don’t play them. If I do play them, but don’t level with them, then I feel like I’m making no progress and don’t want to play them any more. It’s sort of a self imposed cycle of sucks to be me. Sad, really.

       
  3. aoirselvar

    December 18, 2009 at 2:44 PM

    See our games styles are different (although mine has been changing to the point where its starting to look more like yours). My goal is to get 2 more characters to level 80 before the expansion, I do enjoy the end level game (even if I haven’t been playing it lately). I guess I need to be more of the “joy in the journey” player, but I tend to play towards a goal, and when leveling the ultimate goal is the level cap.

    And previously I did have a home server, I never ever ever played on other servers. Just in the last couple of months have I ventured out and joined guilds on other servers. But its been an adventure, I’m just a lot poorer on other servers.

     
    • Psynister

      December 18, 2009 at 2:58 PM

      Getting to level cap is my goal, but that’s the end of my journey for a character and I don’t really like getting one character to cap, then another, then another. I go in little bursts. Bob to 10, Fred to 15, Mike to 6, Bob to 20, Fred to 25, Mike to 8 (/sigh warrior), Bob to 35, Fred to 29, Mike gets deleted, roll 3 new toons, Sally to 6, Ted to 10, Jen to 8, delete Bob, delete Sally, roll 3 new toons, ….and so on.

      I haven’t deleted my only level 80 just yet, but only because he’s got about 4k gold on him and there’s a very, very slim chance that I might one day receive a free server transfer since that server is dying, and at that point I could get him somewhere that would allow me to get that gold onto one of my active realms.

       
      • aoirselvar

        December 18, 2009 at 3:36 PM

        You and brigwyn, delete happy. What I’ve been doing is more like this: bob lvl 10 oh, out of rest XP, Jane level 30, got bored, Mike level 20 out of rest xp, bob level 14, bored of druid at the moment, Jane level 32, out of rest xp, etc etc. I also think I have ADHD, can’t focus on one thing for more than like 5 minutes. Which is amazing that I have a level 80 and a level 76 toon. And the fact that I’ve been playing this game for 3 1/2 years now.

         
    • Psynister

      December 18, 2009 at 3:47 PM

      I can stay focused on something without any problem, I just set too many different goals to stay focused on that eventually I get back to a toon I haven’t played in a while and I sit there for a second…nah, screw it /delete.

      I don’t like picking up a character I haven’t played in months and then trying to get back into them, I’d rather just delete and reroll the same class again and start over.

      And one goal might prompt a change in another goal so that instead of going full circle to keep everyone moving I’ll jump back and forth between a few toons and ignore the rest to the point that I don’t want to play them any more.

      95% of my toons have full rested experience at all times, while the other 5% are lucky if they still get the bonus at all after killing a single mob.

       
  4. Roger

    December 21, 2009 at 12:54 PM

    Nice writeup, [Greatest Blogger of All Time]. Despite the fact that I’m not playing anymore, I still put in a lot of time this year and considered doing this on my site. I may, time permitting.

    I can see your problem with finding a good home though. I had that in my first 1, maybe 2 years of the game, and since then, it has been bouncing between realms and guilds trying to find that perfect fit… which simply does not exist.

    I am going to probably wait till Cataclysm before returning, if at all. We’ll see.

     

Leave Me a Note