RSS

16 responses to “Enchanting Heirlooms

  1. Cynwise

    July 16, 2010 at 11:45 AM

    Awesome post!

    The Greater Inscription of the Gladiator (http://www.wowhead.com/item=44957) can be gotten for 10k honor points and applied to any heirloom for +30 Stamina / +15 Resilience, making it a great option for tanks. The downside (and it’s pretty big) is that the enchantment only kicks in at level 70. You can wear the shoulders without any problem up to that point, but it will only help out in the final stretches of leveling.

     
    • Psynister

      July 16, 2010 at 1:14 PM

      I had that in the list, and apparently it got wiped away when I decided to take out all of the level 80 enchants. I’ll get it put back in as that one wasn’t meant to be left out.

       
  2. Redhawks

    July 16, 2010 at 11:47 AM

    Great article. One of the things people should also know about enchanting heirlooms is if you send a DK a weapon, you are not allowed to use runeforging on it. So you have a choice between using the heirloom weapon and getting a different enchant or getting other weapons and using Runeforging.

     
    • Psynister

      July 16, 2010 at 1:17 PM

      That’s a good point. Class abilities that are permanent cannot be used for enchanting while temporary class enchants/buff such as a shaman’s Windfury Weapon or a warlock’s Spellstones can be applied to them in addition to other, normal enchants.

      I found it odd that while class temporary buffs do work on weapons you cannot use item-based temporary buffs such as sharpening stones and wizard oil on them, including the lowest version that have no level requirement and actually say they work on all weapons below iLevel 165. Very odd, I say.

       
  3. Nochecazador

    July 16, 2010 at 1:41 PM

    Nice write up. Depending on server economy Crusader can go for as much as new top of the line level 80 enchants. I was fortunate enough to find the recipe on the AH for sale. Bought it and did my own thing. It paid for itself easy.

    DW enhancement shaman with crusader on each weapon equals pure pain for any mob.

     
    • Psynister

      July 16, 2010 at 1:54 PM

      I’ve certainly made my fair share (and then some) of gold off of selling Crusader enchants.

      I like using dual Crusader on my enhancement shaman as well, though I hear other people here lately that prefer +15 Agility on them instead. Shamans get AP from Str, Agi, and Int (after spec), so it’s basically +30 AP at all times as opposed to +100 during procs. I think I’ll stick to crusader, but that is an option I suppose.

      Another thing I’ve considered for after level 60 is to switch to dual +22 Int enchants on the duel Maces of McGowan which would be a constant 48.4 AP from the enchants alone, as well as 660 mana.

       
      • Nochecazador

        July 17, 2010 at 9:12 AM

        I chose Crusader due to no level restrictions and my intent to use the heirloom gear with other characters. Once I get most of my characters together again I can ship all of it over to my low level Horde characters.

        That reminds me. I should purchase the leather chest piece for my rogue.

         
    • Sag

      July 21, 2010 at 9:43 AM

      If you’re new to a server it’s not hard to grind it. I’ve had it drop within an hour of killing the mobs in the scarlet tower outside of hearthglen in Western plaguelands. It’s been a while since I have checked that though and it may drop from other sources now. I realize that there are better things to do for an hour, but there are a few quests that take you to that area. Might as well give the RNG a chance and grind for a bit.

       
      • Psynister

        July 21, 2010 at 9:53 AM

        I’ve actually covered farming it here myself, Farming Enchanting Formulas. Getting it isn’t really that hard, and sometimes you can find the formula for a steal of a price (7g? yoink!).

        On my new server I didn’t feel like farming for it again so I paid 150g for it on the AH. And of course within two weeks I “just happened” to need to go to the area for my professions and “just happened” to decide to kill a few of them and got one to drop. But mine sold on the AH for 325g, so I’m not complaining.

        As with anything else though, farming it might not be fast, but if you’re willing to put just a few hours into it then you’ll get your reward in the end.

         
  4. Cassandri

    July 21, 2010 at 7:56 PM

    Hmmm i didn’t know anyone really used the 2 hander weapon enchants. I didn’t realise there were even 2H BoA weapons!

     
    • Psynister

      July 21, 2010 at 10:55 PM

      The Axe is an amazing weapon for leveling warriors, shamans, and paladins, as is the mace. The sword is also good, but lacks some of the stats of others. I’ve seen all three of the enchants I mentioned here asked for and used on 2H heirlooms, though 25 Agi is the most common.

       
  5. Spyder1384

    October 23, 2017 at 9:22 AM

    Most viable shoulder enchants are acquired from the Zandallar Tribe by farming for rep in ZG. The enchants will give either 18 SP or 30 AP and become active at lvl 55 (used to be active at lvl 1 until patch 3.3.5a)

     

Leave Me a Note